How Good I Feel When I Stick To My Clean Eating Ways and the 80/20 Rule

Okay so I get a lot of questions about my diet and how I stay trim and healthy. It is not easy it takes work and I am still human so I do have my splurge moments! I have suffered in my younger years from an array of issues that includes diagnoses of stomach ulcers, sinus infections, IBS, and so many more things. About 5 years ago I went to the extreme and did a cleanse that I believe saved me from long term of pain and agony. So now after creating a healthy clean gut I believe in the 80/20 rule. 80% of the time I eat clean. Which means my daily diet consist of many fresh organic fruits and vegetables, lean grassed meats, and no processed junk. Then you got the 20%, at this time I may indulge in a real Mexican Coke (it has real cane sugar not corn syrup) or real organic dairy vanilla ice cream or half of a croissant loaded with fresh caught grilled snapper fish and a slice of real Baby Swiss Cheese! Yes life means balance and this includes your diet so indulge a little but not too much! Also I won’t have all of the indulgent foods in one setting or one day. I usually pick a weekend day to splurge a little since I am accompanied by family and friends at this time. We may dine out or do some picnicking on an island or boat.  Also don’t forget to take your Probiotics and get a clean healthy gut before you add in those indulgent foods. There are still some things that I will not touch such as fast food restaurants and Pizza from those little chain fast food restaurants (you know what I am talking about). I have learned the hard way that my body just can not take in some of the ingredients they use (usually it has to do with the oils) and it is not a pretty outcome for me.

food from coop

In this picture you can see my food pick up from the Emerald Coast Organic Food Coop. It is very economical to become part of your local food coop. It supports local farmers and is a great way to start experimenting with different types of seasonal vegetables and fruits for daily cooking and or smoothies. Also if you are having a hard time find organic produce within your local grocery store a lot of times your local organic food coop can help supplement these items. So do some googling and see if you find one near you!

3 comments

Leave a comment